Seaafret - Tell Me It's Real

How I Felt While I Was Listening To… Seafret – “Tell Me It’s Real”

So, I just started this blog, and I think it is going well, so far. I am particularly loving the “Schedule” feature, as it allows me to migrate some of my old poems into the blog without flooding the ‘poetry’ tag feed too much (I hope).

I originally planned to just put up a single poem per day (two or three poems at most), but I wanted to give my older poems a chance to see the light, so I scheduled for most of them to be posted, two hours apart. I hope it didn’t annoy the crap out of people following me (hey, thank you so much for the follows and kind words, by the way, guys!).  It will taper out soon, I promise, as I only got, like three days worth of scheduled posts.

Now, I want to give this blog another dimension by talking about one more thing I really love besides poetry: music. I know, I know, everybody loves music. All the more reason to get into talking about it, right? So I thought I would put up a semi-regular thing where I just write about how I felt while listening to a particular album. It’s a way to express how I go about understanding music and hopefully get some insight on how particular nuances make us love the thing more. Also, it’s a way of encouraging me to write more often. As I said in the sidebar, there on the right if you can read it, I wrote poems every day. Yet, I never actually wrote… blog or journal entries like this one, and for the longest time I wanted to, and regularly! Even if it’s just for a once-a-week kind of thing. The fact that it’s music that makes me courageous enough to try it actually says a lot about me as a person, too.

I want to emphasize how I said I will just write about how I feel. This will not be a critique or an analysis or a review of the album. Although to be honest, it might look like it would veer into any one of those directions at times. However, the bottom line is that I don’t want anyone to take anything from these posts other than the fact that it’s one guy’s emotional response to that particular work of art. If you agree with it, then it’s okay. If you don’t then that’s fine, too. You can even comment on how you disagree; I think it will make for a very interesting discussion, and I would also love to see things in a new way.

I’m not a ‘pro’ by any means, but I can play guitar, keyboard, bass, and drums. I wish I could play violin or cello, though. And watching orchestras perform live just always gives me this super-awesome feeling I cannot even start to explain.

So… that’s my intro, I guess. Today I will be talking about a relatively fresh release, just out January of this year (2016): Seafret’s “Tell Me It’s Real.”

Although it is a little bit embarrassing to admit, Seafret first caught my attention not because of their music. The reason why I know and love Seafret today is because of a thumbnail. You see, I love Game of Thrones and Arya Stark in particular, so when I saw Maisie Williams on the thumbnail for Seafret’s MV of “Oceans,” I immediately clicked; the reasoning being that anything with Maisie Williams in it is going to be awesome.

And boy, was I right. “Oceans” was all sorts of intimate and heartbreaking. That brooding guitar strumming in the intro, for me, felt like a preamble to a lamentation. Of course, it all the more emphasizes that feeling of longing as the vocals come in, saying three very unexpected words: “I want you.”

Okay, what I love about opening lines, especially when you’re hearing or reading an artist for the first time, is that it serves as an introduction that can make or break the idea of your relationship together. So for me this experience is like meeting a person for the first time after which they will just up and tell you that, hey,

I want you.

It tends to catch someone off-guard, as I was.

From there it’s just a snowball of musical atmospheres that builds up on this longing… and also the reason for that longing, which was ultimately revealed in the chorus that sings, “It feels like there’s oceans between you and me…” It was just a beautifully-constructed song, and after listening to it I was convinced that I have to listen to the album already.

This was a minimalistic track, featuring nothing more than the guitar, the vocals and the subtle ambiences. I expected the whole album to be that way, but I was surprised when the album’s opening track, “Missing” featured drums. Nonetheless, it was a good surprise, and I can say that “Missing” is more powerful than most of the other songs, but in a way still conveyed the same sense of longing and want that I first felt in “Oceans.”

I have to say that my most favorite track, though, is “To The Sea,” which featured guest vocals by Rosie Carney. The song has this very nostalgic feel to it and features a somewhat… cozy simplicity which is a step back from the usually heavy atmospheres that most of the songs in the album lay.

I guess it also helps that I live close to the sea, and the song just mirrors some of the feelings and ideas I get when I think about that fact.

“Do you
think of me
when you look to the sea?
I know,
it’s hard to grow
when you’re pushed to your knees.
I know,
our time will pass, your love it will last.

Darling, we will never break.”

“Tell Me It’s Real” is such a wonderful experience, and I can say it is in my top ten of my most favorite releases of 2016. If you’re into laid-back indie pieces featuring guitar and emotional lyrics, try and give it a spin!

”How I Felt While I was Listening To…” aims to be a regular feature of this blog, wherein I try to write about how I feel about a particular album. It is not meant to be a review, analysis, or critique but merely a way to share emotional responses to certain pieces of music and perhaps encourage others to give the album a listen, as well.*

Cheers,
A. P.

Speak your mind.

